Our verdict: the Dermfix FreeGlow is the best red light therapy mask you can buy in Europe in 2026. It is cordless, the lightest mask in our comparison at 280 g, carries more LED chips than every rival except one, combines red, blue and near-infrared light, and is the only mask we compared that is tested to the European household appliance safety standard EN 60335-2-27. It comes with a 3-year warranty, ships from our warehouse in Germany, and costs €349.
Below we explain what is new, how the FreeGlow compares with the masks people most often ask us about, and who should choose it.
Meet the FreeGlow
Dermfix has built red light panels for the body for years before this: the RLF series runs from the compact RLF750 at €695 up to the full-body RLF6000, with seven selectable wavelengths from 480 to 1060 nm and the same EN 60335-2-27 testing as the mask. The FreeGlow is the face-only addition to that range.
For years, customers have asked us for a mask to sit alongside our Dermfix Halo. The Halo is a contact-free panel for the face and body. The Dermfix FreeGlow is built purely for the face, and it goes wherever you do.
- Truly cordless. No cable, no plug, no stand. Up to 40 minutes per charge, recharged by USB-C in about 3 hours. Relax on the sofa, read, or work at your desk during a session.
- Soft and light. Skin-friendly silicone that weighs just 280 g, so it sits comfortably rather than pressing on your face.
- 288 LED chips, three wavelengths. 460 nm blue, 630 nm red and 850 nm near-infrared, in three modes: red + near-infrared, blue + near-infrared, or all three together.
- Simple control. A handheld remote sets the mode, three brightness levels and a 5, 10 or 15-minute timer. The mask switches itself off at the end of the session.
- LED only, no lasers. Classified Exempt Group under EN 62471, the lowest photobiological risk class.
- Proper European safety testing. CE to EN 60335-2-27, EN 62233, EMC and RoHS.
- Backed for the long term. 3-year warranty plus 30-day returns, from a company that has passed TÜV SÜD audits for 15 years and has 20 years of experience with phototherapy devices.
Recommended use is 10 minutes, up to 4 times a week.
How the FreeGlow compares
We compared the FreeGlow with five well-known masks sold to European customers: the Rojo Oro, the BlockBlueLight Red Light Therapy Face Mask, the CurrentBody Series 2, the Shark CryoGlow and the Omnilux Contour Face. Figures are taken from each brand's own published specifications and prices, or from major retailer listings where the brand does not publish them.
| Mask | Price | Light sources | Wavelengths | Blue light | Cordless | Weight | Warranty | EN 60335-2-27 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dermfix FreeGlow | €349 | 288 LED chips | 460, 630, 850 nm | Yes | Yes, 40 min | 280 g | 3 years | Yes |
| Rojo Oro | €420 | 72 bulbs (laser + LED) | 460 nm LED; 665, 850, 1064 nm laser | Yes | Yes | Not published | 1 year | Not stated |
| BlockBlueLight Face Mask | £274.95 | 122 LEDs | 590, 630, 810, 830 nm | No | Battery controller | Not published | 2 years | Not stated |
| CurrentBody Series 2 | £399.99 | 236 LEDs | 633, 830, 1072 nm | No | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not stated |
| Shark CryoGlow | €349.99 | 160 LEDs (480 sources) | Red, blue, infrared | Yes | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not stated |
| Omnilux Contour Face | $395 (US) | 132 LEDs | 633, 830 nm | No | Battery controller | 330 g incl. controller | 2 years (1 year controller) | Not stated |
What the comparison shows
Price. At €349 the FreeGlow is priced in line with the Shark CryoGlow, below the Rojo Oro and the CurrentBody Series 2, and above only the BlockBlueLight mask, which has no blue light and fewer LEDs.
Coverage. With 288 LED chips the FreeGlow carries more light sources than the Rojo Oro, BlockBlueLight, CurrentBody and Omnilux masks. Only the Shark CryoGlow counts more, by counting each of its three-colour LEDs as three sources.
Versatility. The FreeGlow, Rojo Oro and Shark CryoGlow are the only masks here that combine blue light with red and near-infrared. The CurrentBody, Omnilux and BlockBlueLight masks have no blue light.
Comfort. At 280 g the FreeGlow is the lightest mask whose weight is published, and it is fully cordless, with no battery pack hanging from a cable.
Peace of mind. Its 3-year warranty is the longest in the comparison, three times the Rojo Oro's 1 year. It is also the only mask here that states testing to EN 60335-2-27, the European safety standard for skin-treatment appliances, and its stock is held and shipped from inside the EU.
Who should choose the FreeGlow?
Choose the FreeGlow if you want a light, comfortable mask you can wear while getting on with your evening, with blue, red and near-infrared light in one device, European safety testing and a long warranty.
If you prefer a device that does not touch the skin, or you also want to treat the neck, hands or other small areas, the Dermfix Halo adds a fourth wavelength (590 nm yellow) and stands on its own integral stand.
If you want to treat your back, shoulders, legs or the whole body rather than just your face, a mask is the wrong tool — look at the RLF panels instead. The RLF1500 at €995 is the half-body all-rounder most people start with.
Frequently asked questions
Is the FreeGlow cordless?
Yes. The battery is built in and gives up to 40 minutes per charge. It charges by USB-C in about 3 hours.
Does the FreeGlow use lasers?
No. It uses LEDs only and is classified Exempt Group under EN 62471, the lowest photobiological risk class.
How often should I use it?
We recommend 10-minute sessions, up to 4 times a week.
What is in the box?
The mask, a remote controller, a USB-C cable, a storage case, a carry bag and the operating instructions.
Where does it ship from?
All stock is held and shipped from our warehouse in Germany.
Shop the Dermfix FreeGlow — €349
Prices and specifications checked on 22 October 2026 from each brand's published information and major European retailer listings. Brands may change prices or specifications at any time.